June 13, 2018

Advice on direction (iOS or Web)

I took this past year to learn swift, work on a business idea and spend more time with my family. Learning swift has been an item on my bucket list for some time.

Part of the motivation for starting a business was to have a revenue stream to make up for a change in employment. We are moving from a region with an abundance of tech opportunities to a region with little to none. Unfortunately, the business is no where ready to start earning revenue.

So I am going to look for either remote or freelance work, and treat the business as a side hustle.

I have about 20 years experience as a designer but am considering trying something different.

Which skill might people here at IdeaHackers find to be in the most in demand, front end web development (Design/HTML/CSS/JS) or iOS Dev (UI/jr level programming)? Both directions require an investment in time before I would be completely comfortable finding clients, but web far less so as it used to be apart of my job description years and years ago.

Many thanks.

1. 3

Hi Clark,

Interesting evolution (not shift). I'm a UX Researcher and Interaction Designer as background and progressively moving to App/Webapp development.

However, while I planned to learn development, I did this not through "traditionnal" development/coding framework but entering the no/low code movement. I'm now expert with bubble.is , wich lead me to a good undersanding of HTML/CSS/JS and now able to develop and implement web apps and hybrid apps for mobile. I launched my own freelance company ( ideable.co)

You said "I have about 20 years experience as a designer but am considering trying something different.".

I dont agree with you on that, as a designer/UXer, developing apps makes me realize that we have a serious competencies/advantage in thinking the dev always through the user point of view. Working on both sides how me how connected and interdependent those are..