January 7, 2019

Building a Legacy One Simple Product at a Time

1. 6

Congratulations! 🍾

Can you elaborate on how you kept attracting new users after the Reddit and Product Hunt launch spike traffic died?

1. 1

I didn't do anything to intentionally bring in users. Over the years I've dabbled in AdWords, Facebook ads, LinkedIn ads, and the like, but that never did anything for me, so I don't run any digital ads anymore. I wrote a lot of content and hoped people would spread the word. I've been on a bunch of podcasts as well, and that's helped too.

2. 2

Congratulations! I cannot help but ask, where do you find reliable freelancers?

1. 1

As I'm a freelancer myself, I can answer this one for you if you don't mind.

Referrals. If you don't have anyone to refer a freelancer to you, you can just talk to random ones and see if they are ok.

There are things that freelancer should/shouldn't do/say to their clients. Most of them just want something to work on for money, only a small portion of them are focused on actually HELPING the client succeed.

1. 2

Hey thanks for the information. I was more interested in learning about recommended websites or platforms to get reliable freelancers that don't charge a fortune. I've had bad experiences with many sites in the past, its either that or the quotes are way over my budget always.

1. 3

To be honest, a good freelancer SHOULD charge more than the "market price"

Try and look on websites like reddit, linkedin (even IndieHackers?), etc. Although, referrals should always be the first approach.

If you need someone to work with, shoot me a PM with your email, I might find someone for you from my freelancing circle, depending on your budget and needs.

1. 2

To be honest, a good freelancer SHOULD charge more than the "market price"

As a former freelancer I completely agree with you. I always tended to think I was "working with my client" whenever I was having a project.