October 11, 2018

Burned out and need advice

I have been working on a personal finance app for Mac and iPhone for quite a while. It's called Savings (savingsapp.com), and the original intention is to create something that is simple, easy to use and elegant.

My partner and I have put in a lot of work polishing the app over the years, but it seems like no matter what we do, the market just isn't responding. I am getting to a point where I feel burned out and unable to continue, because working on something without result simply is not rewarding.

Truth is, we have never done any marketing on the app. As a developer, I actually don't know where to start in terms of marketing. How do we figure out what our customers want? How do we differentiate? We have built something that we love to use ourselves, but that surely doesn't seem to be enough.

What do you guys think about this product? Feel free to be blunt.

Or, do you think it's time that we give up on this concept and move on to something else?

1. 4

"we have never done any marketing on the app. As a developer, I actually don't know where to start in terms of marketing. How do we figure out what our customers want?"

That right there is the issue which I am sure you have figured out. Now, I would ask some questions first:

1. Who is your Target/Ideal Customer ? Has this question been answered ? If not, you need to work on this part. You cannot say "hey everybody needs to save, so the whole world is our target". That will ensure a sure shot failure of your business.

2. What "problem" or "pain point" are you solving specifically ? Your landing page says "20% of features that you use 80% of time". I like that but it is not enough. Instead of features, focus on problems and pain points.

3. Do you have any registered users already on these? Have you done any follow-ups with your existing users ?