September 14, 2018

How can I learn to sell?

I have been a software engineer for 6 or so years but my drive for teaching myself to code always came from a creative product-oriented interest. I feel that the two core skills for building tech companies are sales and code. I think I've got the code down for the most part and it has become an addictive habit. However, I'm lacking the sales experience and more importantly the habit.

How can I form the sales habit? More specifically I want to practice prospecting, pitching and closing.

Some ideas I am considering are

• Getting a business development representative role. (Likely to be poorly paid, may lack the closing element).

• Cold calling for a fictitious product? (Quite a daunting task).

1. 13

I think the best way is to do it is to create a product you're passionate about and go out and sell it.

When you're a founder and you have the passion and vision for your product, it's much easier than trying to sell someone else's vision using tactics and ploys.

1. 1

I totally agree with Kyle, the simplest way to be passionate and know the pain you are building the solution to resolve. If it resolves your pain, find others in the same environment that can use this solution and get feedback. Realign the product till your solution can resolve the major problems for your ideal user group. Then focus on the top 20% of most active users so that they will love your product and be more likely promote it to the rest of the community.

2. 6

Hi check out the the following blog ,he has done an amazing job in explaining each step of sales and marketing .

Not like the other bullshit blogs out there !!

https://blog.gettamboo.com/the-epic-guide-to-bootstrapping-a-saas-startup-from-scratch-by-yourself-part-1-4d834e1df8c1

Also check out these link too

1. https://www.julian.com/guide/growth/intro?ref=producthunt

2.https://www.bamf.media/bamfbible2018?ref=producthunt

1. 2

These links are great! Thanks for sharing.

3. 4