November 7, 2018

I wish I had started learning coding 20 years ago

I am 52 and while I master the art of Internet Marketing aka. making money on demand, especially by creating software through outsourcing, I wish I had started learning code 20 years ago.

Is it too late now?

1. 28

No.

I started learning to code when I was made redundant for the third time 13 years ago in my 40s. I determined then that I would never work for corporate again and I never have.

The internet was a much more immature beast back then and finding material from which to learn was much harder than it is today.

Life in the meantime has not been easy. I won't pretend that it has. I won't pretend, either, that I am the world's best or most efficient programmer - but I can generally get the computer to do what I want and, in the end, unless you are working for the military or some other precision-based, mission-critical organisation, the customer doesn't actually care if your code is not as efficient as it could be.

Let's put it this way: some of the biggest names out there have had appallingly bad code bases either for their external customer or their internal support products. So long as what you create does something of value to the customer and does it better than they could do it themselves, you will have a market.

You are not too old to learn how to code. The actual barrier is attitude of mind rather than your age. In business terms, to judge by some of the questions I see here, you may actually have an advantage having been around the block a few times. Obvious though it sounds, it takes a lifetime to gain life experience and you may find that you have ways of thinking about and approaching things which gives you a way in to coding.