June 13, 2018

Let's Build a Startup!

I have an idea for a website -- maybe it's been done before ? If so, I'd love to see.

I'm a developer, and would love to use my skills to build something, but I just don't know what. I'm always keen to meet other devs and chat about startups and building stuff, but it's not always easy to find people who have the same interests or passions.

Therefore, I want to see if I can do something about it:

Basically the idea would be a website where you can sign up, either as a developer, designer, freelancer, marketer (whatever), and you fill in your interests, skills, ideas, target idea/concept niche, etc.

You would then be able to search a database of other people and you could filter people by your same interests, tech knowledge and preferred stack, passions, etc etc.

The premise being that you would be connected with like-minded people and therefore be able to bounce ideas around based on your chosen niche, category, passion etc. This could be integrated with all sorts of tools like slack for chat, trello for task lists, etc etc.

You could then go on to join forces and build your startup.

Does anything like this exist, if not, is it relevant? And if it is relevant, do you have any ideas to flesh this out more?

1. 2

I actually met someone that I worked with on my site www.muusical.com on a site very similar to what you describe. It was something like www.meeet.co I don't believe it is operating anymore, but I really liked it and it helped me find a like-minded and talented designer to work with!

2. 2

Hard to generate revenue in this space. The target group is generally not looking to invest hard-cash in doing this as the proposition becomes "pay to share your idea with strangers" or "pay to share your time with strangers". Startups are not rich either.

You also have to manage the risk of people just using it as an ideas source/jobs board/dev-shop marketing channel. It could easily become MySpace/LinkedIn spam central.