November 13, 2017

Need your feedback on my new side project!

Hey IH community,

I’m currently hacking together another side project and I’d love your feedback.

I’m creating a new ‘brand marketplace’. It’s called https://Braand.co.

My day job is a designer. I’ve been designing logos and websites for the last 15+ years. Over the years I’ve gotten pretty good at designing logos. I’ve brought a lot of domain names. Lastly, I love startups and new business ideas.

So, what to do with my branding experience and a whole bunch of domain names? Start a domain name and brand marketplace called Braand.co! : )

After doing some research I realised yes, this is thing that has been done. ( brandpa.com and Brandbucket.com ) But, I feel like I’m in a unique position to really make something special as I have a background in design plus I’m pretty good at picking memorable, brandable domain names.

Here’s what I’ll be offering people at https://Braand.co:

Great domain names! lots of .com’s and some awesome .co’s and other popular extensions.

A professional logo to accompany the domain name in various sizes and formats.

An avatar and page head for their new Twitter profile

An avatar and page header for their new Facebook profile

Is there anything else you would like to be included in your ‘brand package’?

I would love to hear your thoughts.

Thanks in advance,

Craig

1. 1

Really into this idea. Seen some designers do similar things as one-off projects. I'm also familiar with Brandbucket. I've done sort a similar thing before, but only marketed it in circles never set up a site to do it. One thing I've also done before is claim social media handles to go along with the domain.

I agree with most of the feedback here on showing more on the website. I think that's critical to the success of the project. The mailing list could be something exclusive such as people on the list get first dibs on purchasing before they are listed on the site. Just a thought.

1. 0