January 17, 2018

What is the most useful programming language for indie hackers?

Hi guys,

my background is in marketing but I have a couple ideas that I want to build.

What are the best programing languages to learn that I could use to build different side projects?

1. 4

I would definitely consider Python as general purpose language because you can change from simple scripting, to backend development to data analysis.

Obviously I consider Ruby on Rails to be an equivalent in terms of "language" features but the data analysis advantage makes me lean towards Python, because sooner or later you would have to crunch numbers in order to understand what is happening with your project.

In modern days you can't do anything in the (http) cloud without a basic knowledge of javascript so add that to your list.

1. 1

Thanks a lot!

2. 4

If you have no skills in programming, start with Ruby on Rails.

1. 1

I'd also recommend Rails for web applications.

If you want to start with some skills that you can immediately apply to other tasks, try this free online book: https://automatetheboringstuff.com/

Python is solid, and Django is a good alternative to Rails.

I think that those will be easier than Firebase, because they provide structure and don't lock you into a single, non-free service.

2. 1

Absolutely this ^^. Once you learn RoR (and HTML/CSS/JS/DB/APIs/etc), you can branch out into other languages (PHP/React.js/Vue.js/etc) to accomplish any task.

I started to use RoR on my current project, but wound up going with the Ember.js/Firebase/Google Cloud Functions route (Serverless is amazing).

3. 3

As a (mostly) JS dev myself, I'd say Ruby.

Ruby on Rails is the best tool for quick prototyping I know of with a lesser step learning curve.