May 16, 2018

Ask IH: What platform do you use for your blog?

I'm very new to blogging however I am pleasantly surprised by the amount of traffic and engagement it seems to bring in. I want to invest more into this if I can but first I want to get the basics right.

What is everyone using to host their blog? Medium? Ghost? Something else?

Also slightly related: do you post in multiple place?

1. 9

Github Pages for hosting, Jekyll for static site generating, Forestry for CMS, Cloudflare for SSL.

Pricetag: $0

1. 1

Didn't know about Forestry. Thanks for the tip!

2. 1

[deleted since the parent now mentions Cloudflare]

1. 1

Cloudflare protects you from going down during high bandwidth situations.

2. 7

Wordpress. I host it myself. A blog is far to important to hand over to a third party, especially one that hosts it on their own domain, thus stealing precious SEO from your site.

3. 6

I use self-hosted WordPress. In my opinion, it is still the easiest route get the blog up and running. Especially if you are a tech-savvy user you should have no problem using Wordpress.

The vast amount of plugins make it easy to incorporate every function functionality you need.

4. 4

Run from medium as your primary publishing platform. They can, they will, and they have pulled the rug out from under many publishers.

That being said, you can republish there. Definitely publish in many places. As many as you can find actually. Just lead everyone back to your site with something like a content upgrade or relevant links. Make sure you add the cannonical tag as well.

Finally, I chose Wordpress for our blog with a few customizations.

1. 2

Hey thanks so much for the feedback! Would you mind elaborating on:

Make sure you add the cannonical tag as well.

I'm new to this whole blogging/SEO things and don't know exactly what you mean.

1. 2