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Acquiring a micro SaaS is a no-brainer. Why aren't more Indie Hackers doing it?

If you’ve followed the financial markets in the last few weeks, you’ve likely only seen red. There’s talks of a recession, a repeat of 2008 or the usual doomsday predictions that come with watching Fox News (stop! that’s self harm).

But that’s not even surprising part. What is surprising is what little macro economics i think i understood, turns out isn’t quite true.

🔻 Stocks (S&P 500) are down (-20% YTD) and still bleeding. Alright.

🔻 Crypto is down (-32% YTD). Hmm bitcoin was supposed to be a hedge against inflation, USD and much more. But whatever.

🔻 And Bonds are down (-10%) ??? Umm a traditional asset supposed to be inversely correlated with stocks.

🔻 Real estate? don’t know much here, but TBH doesn’t look good.

So everything is correlated and is taking a nose dive then? Wonderful. As an avg joe investor, is there anywhere else i can put my money?

Now if you’re like, "@chadburger what has this got to do with Indie Hackers, this isn’t boggleheads and can you please get to the point?"

Sure. TL;DR

Buying a micro SaaS biz/ app as an investment probably surpasses returns of all aforementioned investment asset classes.

Here’s how:
So you wanna make $10K/ MRR. Plunk $250K into a cashflowing micro SaaS (or a bundle of them) that cumulative generate said MRR and are on sale for a revenue multiple of 25x MRR (1.5x - 4x ARR being an ideal range).
That’s a return on your investment (ROI) of ~4% a MONTH. In contrast, the S&P500 has historically returned ~10% per YEAR.

Astute readers will note the economics work as long as you stick to buying at a reasonable revenue multiple (< 4x ARR) irrespective of whether you invest 2K, 20K or 200K.

That’s the TL;DR. The rest is me just rambling on to drive the point home.


By now hopefully you have more questions than before you started reading and i'm anticipating “buuut @chadburger what about...”

Let me get to answering them.

1. Reframing the idea 🧠

There’s nothing novel in what i’m saying. Buying a small biz.. pfft everybody knows that idea. Yet i don't see that many folks on IH exploring this option.
But reframing this might help. Instead of thinking of it as simply buying, it’s useful to think of this as an investment into a new asset class.

Beyond traditional assets, you could invest in hedge funds. Or private equity. Or get into deals as an LP for VC funds or rolling funds (ala angellist.com). But then you need to be an accredited investor ($$) and if so, y'all have no business reading this post on IH.
...alright sorry, didn’t mean to gatekeep anyone. Welcome accredited reader :)

For the rest of us small fish, I've seen good deals starting from a few 1000$ with a niche product market fit, cash flow and promising potential.

2. Benchmarking 📈

Best (bull) case scenario if you invest in the broader stock market, the mean time-to-double (TTD) your investment is 7 years (10% CAGR).

Meanwhile buying a biz at 25x MRR, time-to-double shrinks to 4.1 years. This is the worst case outcome, of not being able to scale and continuing to earn the same MRR*.
(*If you run the biz into the ground OTOH, well... will talk about the risks soon)

Now this is not a hit-piece on the stock market. My example just uses the S&P as a benchmark for this new asset class. Buying (or dollar cost averaging) and hodl-ing a broad market index I feel is still the sane approach for that specific asset class i.e public companies (index over stock picking).

Unless ofcourse you’re into NFT’s, and if so you can stop reading now. No for real, this is boring Charlie Munger type stuff. And i’m kinda into buying businesses cheaper than .eth gas fees on monkey pics.

3. You don’t have to #yolo it all. But no worries if you do 💸

Okay so far if you’re still with me,
Find a biz that fits your criteria on flippa.com or microacquire.com (or others i’d also like to know).

Trade capital you're comfortable with for recurring revenue. Some diligence should help ensure revenue doesn’t decline over time i.e good chunk of organic sales and some scalability potential.

Like I did with @retrowidget a while back from flippa. Now i didn’t have a spare $300K to plunk on a game. A game that’s trying to trade your hard earned $1.99 in exchange for offering nostalgia-as-a -service.
But i did have like $2500 to splurge on this app that made ~$80-90/mo in sales. An MRR multiple of ~30x. So the economics (~4% monthly return) still works out. Ramen supplies for future years secured!
Revenue has been organic for the past 6 months without lifting so much as a finger. Ofcourse i have some big dreams for it but i’ll take the monthly ramen money for now. (This was mostly an experiment and more on this in a follow up post sometime)

Here's another great share closed-a-60k-saas-acquisition from @brucem. That led to a comment from me which snowballed into this post (h/t @austinparker).

4. Risks

(booo 👎👎 #yolo)

  • Your organic revenue could decline. No different than had you bootstrapped to this point and were scaling it. (SEO /ASO rules change, new competitors, customer churn yada yada)
  • You run the biz to the ground. Not sure how, but what i'm sure of is crashing and burning and learning real world lessons with your own capital at stake would still be better than a 2 year MBA*.
    (*Okay no shade some MBA's are cool)
  • Yet surprisingly not being able to scale is not even that big a risk. You recoup your investment within a reasonable timeframe(in x years at x ARR). From there on it's purely profits.
    (remember low rev multiple and not insane VC multiples of 20x+ ARR)

Hope this was a convincing argument for you to acquire your first biz. It’s almost like i’m doing free marketing for @microacquire or something (big fan but this is not a sponsored post lol)

I truly feel having a community of Indie Makers alongside Indie Acquirers to provide the right liquidity is what makes for interesting marketplaces and richer communities.

posted to Icon for group Software as a Service
Software as a Service
on May 10, 2022
  1. 5

    MicroAcquire isn't the only "premium SaaS" marketplace out there. You have FEInternational, EmpireFlippers, etc. This site lists the listings by most of these marketplaces: https://app.centurica.com/marketwatch

    Curious to hear how "passive" a bought business can be from someone who dis it several times.

    1. 1

      This is really helpful @zerotousers. I'm definitely on the hunt for marketplaces (and in turn quality businesses). I'll check this out, thanks!

      Completely agree that "passive" income is definitely not what SaaS acquisition is about. However, if you find the right fit SaaS biz, it seems like an investment that can give the highest ratio of ($$ generated / manual hours spent on it).

  2. 5

    I've done 6 acquisitions and had one exit with https://xo.capital. I agree with @chadburger, it's a great way to buy cashflow but it is definitely not passive.

    1. 1

      Really interesting. Are you open to speaking more to what you mean by "definitely not passive"?

      I.e. Are you running these acquired businesses as a part time portfolio? Or is the time requirement more of a full-time commitment?

        1. 1

          Amazing, just subscribed

  3. 5

    Thanks so much for the MicroAcquire shout out Shitij!

    1. 1

      Thanks Andrew. You've built a great product! I'll be scouting for more deals soon on your platform :)

  4. 3

    Amazing read, could not agree more! 🤠 If anyone is looking into acquiring a Micro SaaS with +100K in ARR, check out bitsfordigits.com

  5. 3

    You make a persuasive argument, nice article. For balance, here are a few counterpoints:

    • you may need to invest a lot of time to maintain and improve the product, test marketing channels etc. It will almost always be significantly more effort than the stock market. If running multiple microsaas is going to be your thing, you should consider the opportunity cost of not being able to focus on other things e.g. a job, not just the returns vs other assets.
    • you need the expertise and ability to spot the good value opportunities and then maintain/improve/grow them. There is a lot of crap on these marketplaces. Successful, profitable businesses will usually come at a high price. And I understand multiples are continually going up due to increased interest in acquisition entrepreneurship, and the savings bubble from the pandemic (Will be interesting to see if multiples fall alongside the stock and venture markets.)
    1. 3

      Completely fair points Alex.
      I'm starting to put together another piece on Build vs Buy and how now i've been thinking about opportunities for both builders and acquirers.

      Where IH has been predominantly a maker-first community, and I would def not like for that to change, i see a positive feedback loop that indie acquirers can bring to this community. It's for sure a different skillset, spotting good deals and scaling a biz is very different from building something from zero-to-one.

  6. 3

    Excellent point. I really want to do this, but gotta set aside some money for it.

    One counterpoint: For the other investments you mentioned, you don't have to do much work. There's a fair amount of work involved in maintaining a business

  7. 2

    Great post, very illuminating, thanks!

    This is also a good framing for people who have got their business to a small MRR. My music apps are making $200/m and I like to think of that as $200 x 12 x 25 = $60k worth of my time and energy invested. That's how much I'd have to put into a traditional investment to make the same monthly amount.

    Basically I think your thesis applies for both buying an IH business, and building one yourself. Buying is a really interesting alternative.

    1. 1

      You're right Chris. Absolutely works for the sell-side of the equation as well. It's a non zero sum game, giving great returns for those that have capital to buy SaaS biz, and upfront capital for someone who put in the time and effort growing their SaaS.

      Small nit for you calculation: 25x MRR(monthly) would be 2.1x ARR. That's $5K not 60K for a $200 MRR app, but if it's fast growing SaaS revenue multiples could def be slightly higher :)

      1. 1

        I think 25x ARR makes sense because that's a 4% PA rate of return. Over the long run 4% is what somebody could reasonably expect from an average investment class. That's why I multiplied $200 by 12 months to get ARR first, and then again by 25x.

  8. 2

    Couldn't agree more. Been doing deals from the $100-$1K MRR range for a few months and this is the most fun I've had in a long time while making more money.

    Apart from the exchanges you mentioned, You can also check.

    1. https://www.microns.io
    2. https://tinyacquisitions.com/home

    I'm also maintaining a list of SaaS Acquirers on Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/i/lists/1409867916942659590

    DM me your profile on Twitter if you're talking about SaaS acquisitions on Twitter and I will add you to the list too.

  9. 2

    Thanks for the mention @chadburger :)

    It's an interesting take, and SaaS acquisition definitely has the potential for solid returns.

    It's almost like getting a "business-in-a-box", and you can focus on scaling sales funnels and retention.

    A key aspect to take into account is that many(most?) of these businesses would not be passive.

    At a bare minimum - as with any software - some level of maintenance is needed over time. Ideally, the product could still be improved with new features and scale as more customers sign up.

    To accomplish this would need some level of technical expertise that, if you cannot do yourself, you'd have to source from somewhere.

    I'm fortunate to have a technical background and can deal with the maintenance and new feature implementation for the product I acquired. Other buyers may need to take into account that they have to budget for coding/development/engineering costs as part of the business.

    1. 2

      Absolutely! Thanks for sharing your story Bruce, which somehow snowballed into this post.
      The part about maintenance is very true. There is no get rich quick "passive income" scheme. But having any creative skills (tech / design / marketing) and the right biz fit does increase your probability of success.

      1. 1

        Agreed! Buyer-Product fit is key to success

  10. 2

    The fun for me is in building the initial product I think.

    If we have some cash flow and processes for maintaining and growing products I'm not opposed to trying it out tho to further diversify.

  11. 2

    This definitely sparks my interest. Thanks for writing this.

    I definitely want to grow my own micro SaaS from scratch but down the road I'd love to be on both the buy and sell side of SaaS transactions.

    I'm curious about your purchase of @retrowidget - what encouraged you to purchase this? Isn't the revenue model flat?

    1. 2

      Thanks Dan!
      My purchase simply was an experiment without extreme diligence as it cost a couple thousand $$, and my intention was simply to see can a biz sustain itself if it's a niche product but still finds organic customers.

      Last 6 months have given me confidence, that the experiment works (again YMMV) and revenue doesn't taper off to 0. A flat revenue is absolutely not a bad deal for my money. Had I invested that money in any other asset class, i'd be down a significant portion (Full disclosure: Like everybody right now I'm down a lot because i'm fairly diversified in other assets too haha)

      Next steps are to trying to scale the app and see where that get's me. That'll be another experiment and maybe the topic of another post.

      1. 1

        Looking forward to your post. Thanks for the reply

  12. 2

    I'll happily partner on the sales and marketing side. +7 years experience.

    1. 1

      Thanks Bernard! Appreciate you reaching out. Will be sure to get in touch once i start to dial up on marketing for my own ventures :)

  13. 2

    Thanks for sharing, I hadn't even considered this but it seems like a great idea. This might be an obvious question, but when you buy the business, you buy it outright, right? Do you become a 100% owner and run it yourself? I think I'd consider acquiring a business with a team, this was it's not me running the whole thing solo. Because, presumably these businesses are already semi-established and require a pretty comprehensive set of skills (sales, marketing, programming, etc...). Plus, less risk in this sense. Although, granted, less returns.

    1. 1

      Thanks for reaching out @GregariousHermit!
      In most cases for micro (or even nano :D) SaaS businesses or apps, you could buy them outright. Though not surprisingly some financing options have also started to come up (e.g pipe on microacquire).

      One way I could frame this for first time buyers, is buying someone's hobby project (which still makes some recurring revenue $$). That framing keeps it low pressure, without the additional baggage of thinking about all the moving parts of a startup, building a team, setting up an LLC, sales, mkting, development etc etc

      It does makes sense if you're good in one or more of these aspects, but you def don't need to know everything.
      For the app i acquired @retrowidget, starting out, i wanted something that just makes a few hundred $$ with mostly organic revenue. And to try and get acquainted with just keep it chugging.

      I'll try and pen some thoughts in a separate post on how i went about with my acquisition, cause it's given me confidence to go for bigger investments now.

  14. 2

    I don't know much about investing or acquiring. Thanks for sharing this. It was a very interesting read! 🙏🏻

    1. 1

      Thanks Brandon! Glad it helped :)

  15. 1

    It's for indiemarketers or indiebusinesspeople.

    Find a project on microacquire with relatively low CAC.

    Let's say something with $1000 MRR with 100 users on $10.
    Supposedly priced at 30x MRR, which is around $30K.
    Let's say it's around $100 to acquire a new user; spend another $10K to double the user base and list it for sale. Pocket the $20K, rinse and repeat till you have your keys to a brand new lambo so you can cook your ramen on its engine.

    Either my math is broken or the market/process.

    Do it five times, document it online become a guru/influencer to reduce your CAC. Damn I just unlocked another million dollar idea.

    1. 2

      Hahah the perpetual (dollar) motion machine. You're right on there @Rusted where at first glance it seems getting to this magical CAC < LTV (life time customer value) number with an acquired biz and then all you gotta do is push the Ad dollars up and laugh your way to the bank.

      The intent (more genuinely) was to show there's some merit in acquiring something at step 1 than struggle to get something off the ground from step 0 to 1.
      It's not just for marketers/ sales people, creative type can get a piece of the pie and apply their skills to unlock value.
      A lot of projects get stale and sold off, because founders move on to other stuff. Acquiring comes with an opportunity to inject fresh blood and try and scale it.

      1. 2

        Yeah, sure. My risk tolerance is not there yet unfortunately.

        It may cost less to start from step 1 for some people but I wouldn't dare. While I keep failing to get to one from zero. After an acquisition, I need to deal with a new code base, new customers, their churn, expansions at the same time.

        Those who can make it shall laugh their way to the bank. :)

    2. 2

      Shouldn't you be able to increase the "X" if you increase the user count and MRR?

      So, for a 1K MRR sold for 30K with 100 users on $10, once you've made it to 200 users and 2K MRR you have more than just a higher MRR -- you have some evidence that the next buyer could keep doing that and grow it more, and of course you have a growing revenue stream.

      I think if this works you can make way more. Which you will probably have to do, since it's not going to work 100% of the time, and your successes will need to cover your failures.

      1. 1

        X becomes the risk factor, possible to increase to the moon or to the initial budget. Numbers were arbitrary and round for easy calculation.

        I was trying to be a little sarcastic but still, if things go as planned. 1K to 2K with $100 CAC in a month, you'll end up with a $20K MRR business by flipping the project and repeating instead of $1K existed + $1K added MRR for $40K investment.

        Looking at the gains, seems like this ridiculous solution is actually way less riskier than running things by your own. Spending $10K on marketing with a 10+ months of ROI 🤷‍♂️

        That's why I hinted marketers/businessperson at the top, it suppose to be their specialization to do these tricks.

    3. 1

      Where this logic falls down is the part about casually spending 10k to double the user base. If the business was as easy as that to scale, why would the original founder be in such a hurry to palm it off to you?

      1. 1

        It's again marketer's specialization not mine.

        Spending $10K is not the easiest. Especially when trying to do it right. Current owner may tried his best and known tactics and pour the money into it until it tanks. Like facebook ads, but someone who's more familiar with reddit or influencer marketing on tiktok may take over and take it to the moon. Again "marketers", that's what they suppose to do.

        Many of those products listed with similar reasons, "I lost interest, I'm working on something else, I don't have time". Owning and running a business is something different. With my nonsense method, buyer doesn't care about infrastructure, scalability, user's happiness, development times or support. All that matters is to pump up the numbers.

        Like someone with "100 True Fans", may take something over, add those 100 people as a new user/subscriber and palm it off (thanks, never heard this phrase before). It may not require $10K for marketing at all in this weird internet era. Even if you spend $10K you'd do it anyways, it's an investment for your own business. :)

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